Adventures of a Drama Teacher











{December 11, 2016}   Snow Day 4

Snow day 4

My Whobabe talks to me every day with our drink 10 gulps of water every time you take a drink of water and maximize your life because it might be gone before you think, oh and take no bull$%^&. That was Erica #whobabe my model, dancer, actress, fitness instructor, LA roommate, fellow Disney partner in crime, movie fan, Lost Boys fan, Beatles fan, fellow dessert fiend, West Side Story fellow Anita, hitch a ride to Honolulu, Cher impersonating friend

.tomi erica.png

Every time The Who comes on the radio there’s a lesson in there and she speaks. My mom speaks too, with Erica in Beatles songs. It’s awesome. I got to go backstage with Erica at the 2000 Hollywood Bowl Tour and we had up front center seats.

 

At the time she was married to Alan Childs

https://www.facebook.com/alan.childs.5876?fref=ts

who was a drummer for The Who periodically, she went on their Tommy Broadway Musical Tour, (that’s why she liked me, because my name is Tomi).

erica alan.png

I am not fat here, I was 8 1/2 months pregnant with Morrison.

It was wonderful to watch Erica live her dream. She became friends with The Who. Roger called her at her living celebration of life. I had to miss it as I was moving up to Oregon and I had just passed through her California town up and back from Oregon/Alaska to Arizona. We watched Across the Universe (Beatles Juke Box musical) with my niece Sarah on the way up, and one of our favorites, my favorite as you know, Jesus Christ Superstar,  on the way back down. Then when I got the job, Mo and I had to bee-line it for Oregon, and she passed soon after that. I am glad that we had gotten the Disney time and the movie nostalgia visits. She even made me take her/sneak her out for onion rings on that last trip, my stubborn friend. It was hard to say goodbye. She had chatted with me, well, texted, she couldn’t really talk anymore, about Oregon’s assisted suicide laws that summer when I was up in Alaska. I looked them up, she was far too gone to move to Oregon and get approved for that.

Day 4 SNOW DAY, cabin fever sets in. I had to finally go out as I was totally out of Diet Coke. I braved the treacherous streets for the caramel colored liquid toxin. Now that’s an addiction, Erica did not go for unhealthy things. Oh except when we splurged on desserts. She never gained weight, just a bundle of excitement she was.

It’s time to feature a few more students:

Brittney Peters- My Little Red in Into the Woods, has booked and performed in the new Frankenstein off Broadway musical. She took the Best solo Musical Award at the Arizona Thespian Festival the year I took her. https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=10207829134661818&set=a.4481381348150.2145609.1098542447&type=3&theater

Grace Baldridge is a comedienne in LA, she was one of my students in Belgium. Super talented singer, actress, and comedian. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HV-AHbdK2FA

Allison Campell- My Belle in Beauty and the Beast. LA based actress/singer. http://www.alisonpcampbell.com/

Jacob Paap-USMC, ARMY This kid! Married another student Katy they have two gorgeous little boys. I based a character-the lead in Buying My Way into Heaven on him.

paap.png

Billy and Ashley Nichols. Teachers Science and English but still heavily involved in medieval sword fight reenactments. These are the kids that cajoled me home from Europe. They met in my 7th grade performing arts class and are married several years now. Billy’s mom, is one of my BFFs.

So as you can see, theatre leads to adventure, thinking outside the box.

I’ll end this entry with more tribute to my Whobabe, who I plan on writing a musical for. So every time I listen to the The Who, Beatles, Queen, god so much music reminds me of her. Our song was “I got my mind set on you” George Harrison. We would blast it in the discotheque of the 80s aerobics room at Hollywood Holiday Health Spa where we met. We would dance like maniacs across the floor. But that’s a story for another day. Gotta get this posted, and with pictures it can be tricky. I love you all!!!!

whobabe2.png

Leave a Reply

et cetera
