Adventures of a Drama Teacher











{June 4, 2008}   Believe

It’s the last three days of classes then two weeks of final exams. My students have performance finals. Last night was the Performing Arts Awards ceremony and today our last school assembly and my 10th grade boys performed a fabulous realism scene about drinking and teenage pregnancy. Every time my kids have performed at the assemblies all the students say, “That was the best assembly ever!” Even the principal commended me and my students. It is so sad that I am leaving, yet happy to be going where I finally realize is my home. Life is life and although I always have delusions of grandeur that because I live by the Golden Rule so should others, I know now, unfortunatly, that is just a fallacy. Anyway, tears have flown, flewed, flowed are flowing, BEEN SHED, but it’s onwards and upwards and a new adventure awaits. I was looking for some jewelry yesterday while getting myself dolled up for the awards night and I picked out of one of my heart shaped boxes (yes, I collect heart shaped things as I wear my heart on my sleave {name that Shakespeare play}) a little pink bag with a silver square piece, I believe Raeleen gave to me last year, that reads, “Things Happen for a Reason” on one side, and “Believe” on the other. I needed to read that, at that precise moment. I also received in the mail two boxes of Hot Tamales and a bag of York Peppermint Patties from my sister. Somebody loves me!

Chelsea C says:

Several people love you. I think everyone who’s ever met you, loves you in the end. You’re just that sort of person. 😀 We were sad when you had to go, we were sad when you really weren’t here, but we’re happy that you got to experience new things. Things happen for a reason, I suppose. And…I wish I could name that Shakespeare play…uhhh…yeah, I don’t know. I misplaced my “Will-Spoken Glossary”. 😦



Billy says:

As for my Shakespeare reference, ’tis neither here nor there, but right before me! Matt and I got promoted at Oliver – we both have speaking parts (Bow Street Runners). They are teeny weenie, but if you pay attention you will hear us. Rehearsals are still way long. Can’t wait to see you.



Leave a Reply

et cetera
