Adventures of a Drama Teacher











{May 17, 2008}   Your heart keeps your head alive

I got my hair (cheveux) trimmed yesterday (une petit coupe) and chatted (parle) the entire time (tout les temp) with Rafael in French. I am just starting to hold my own with the language, my students asking why I am speaking so much French lately; all in the time when I am seriously thinking of returning to Arizona. The other day in my IB class the students did the three headed opera singer improv and the song was “I lost my moose” from the opera Alaska. This made me laugh, and made me cry inside as I miss Alaska, home, my American life. Yet, I am so challenged here. But the job in Arizona has the added challenge of teaching writing, which I am seriously thinking about enrolling in the University of Texas El Paso’s MFA creative writing program as I really want to become a published playwright/novelist/screenwriter someday. (They have an online program). So, although I love the challenge of the IB, learning French and the adventure of Europe, there is an adventure lying in Arizona/Alaska too. (I haven’t been offered a job YET, so I am trying not to get my pantloons in a bunch, but…)

 

Oh I miss food: Taco Bell, Sweet Tomatoes, El Pollo Loco, Jack in the Box. I am going to eat me some big time when I get home!!!!!

 

I talked to my brother for the first time in six years the other day (on my dad’s birthday). It was okay. A big fear, bug bear, gone.

 

Today is my mother’s birthday. When I talked to her I asked why I always lead with my heart and not my head, and she answered with, “Your heart keeps your head alive.”

Chelsea C says:

Wow. So sentimental. You really don’t notice how much you have and how much they mean to you until they’re taken away. We ALL want to see you Mrs. Griffin. ALL OF US. Ummm…job…in…Arizona…? Would this be…? School is almost over and then the ninth graders are off to another year of who knows who as a drama teacher. I’m sure I can speak for everyone by saying, we’re glad to be gone from SJH but its still gonna be hard leaving everyone we’ve spent so much time with.



Casey E says:

I agree with Chelsea. We all miss you sooooooo much. I say always lead with your heart, although i might not always follow that, because your heart will take you where you want to go, your head just says to go with what’s logical(and where’s the fun in that?) Anyways, we all love hearing from you and hope to see you soon.



Alec says:

Mrs. Griffin Mrs. Griffin Mrs. Griffin….hmmmmm…I think Chelsea is trying to FORCE you to come back in a polite way, but someone’s got to do it. But I MUST keep you updated with me right now, i auditioned for Aida with AYT for this summer and I got in! i’m only in the ensemble but I’ll take ANYTHING so I can get theater experience outside of school! Mariah Hatch is Nekebah though!



Chelsea C says:

I’m not trying to FORCE you, Mrs. Griffin. I was simply stating facts. But it would be nice to see you when you come home during the summer (perhaps a party hosted by your former students).



Billy says:

I will meet you at Taco Bell, my treat. When is the party??



Connor says:

I also vote for a party! I’ll bring stuff from Sweet Tomatoes (or Taco Bell, but I think Billy wants to bring that)!

That is a pretty profound insight from your mom, she must be a very smart lady.

Well, regardless of where you end up, you HAVE to let us throw you a party, okay?



Connor says:

Ooh, maybe at Sunsplash? I can talk to my manager and see what she says. (I work there now, I don’t know if I mentioned that!)



Leave a Reply

et cetera
