Adventures of a Drama Teacher











{August 15, 2007}   Mama, at Waterloo Napoleon did surrender

So much to do so little time. I will add photos when I get completely set up.

I am here and working my derriere off getting my apartment set up. Everything here takes twice as long, and there is so much bureaucracy/red tape, and everything is twice as expensive. But it is great fun on the minutes that I am not overwhelmed. I go from elation to overwhelmed/scared to excitement etc. etc.

 lion-of-waterloo.jpg

My apartment is really cute, but like my sister said, “You cannot smell over the internet” and yes, the former tenants smoked. I will have to paint. Again, I promise to put pictures in as soon as I get set up with internet at home.

I have a very gracious hostess, my former English teacher who will be retiring next year. She has taken us to Ikea for shopping, what an experience THAT was. She also took us to a Labyrinth in the Ardennes on Sunday. It was acres of corn fields made into a giant dragon maze. We had a great time and got to see some of the country. We passed the famous Lion of Waterloo on the way. I have been there before, but will be going there again soon I hope. We don’t have a car yet so we are pretty reliable on others so far. We can walk to school in about 20 minutes and our apartment is in downtown Waterloo Center so everything we might need is close.

I really need to get to my classroom clean up, so take care everyone until I get a chance to update again. Please keep the comments and emails coming, I love to hear from you, and here is my new address.

 

Chausee de Bruxelles 197

1410 Waterloo, Belgium

Chelsea C says:

It’s great to hear that you’re doing well Mrs. Griffin. We all still miss you and talk about you everyday, so you’re in our thoughts. I hope that the smell in your new home fades, I know what its like. Okay, talk to you later! 😀



You’re address just sounds so “WOW” Mrs. Griffin! It’s like “Yes, I live in the mansion on Chausee de Bruxelles. Do drop by for tea sometime.”



Alec M. says:

Hi Mrs. Griffin! I’m glad you’re having a good time in Belguim! The new drama teacher isn’t quite like you, but she’s learning!



Amber says:

Hey Mrs. Griffin! We all miss you so much, but I’m glad you are having a good time. I hope you can get everything set up alright and that the smell goes away. This blog is so useful and I love hearing what you’re up to! We all love you! 😀



Christia V. says:

Hey, Mrs. Griffin.
Just wanted to say Hi and that I’m so glad that you are having a great time there. You’ll have to come back and visit us through out the year. Everyone here misses you so much. Talk to you later. 🙂



Shannon D says:

Mrs. Griffin!! We all miss you!! So far high school is great! I love my teachers and I’m learning alot! Me, Sam, and Ashley are managing a website that has some fun Role Playing on it. Its really fun we’re playing the Marauders of Harry Potter. Padfoot, Moony, and Prongs. We’re catalouging our high school experience by acting like different people! We’re planning on going to see who the new drama teacher is sometime soon. Introduce her to the griffinites you know? The web site is http://www.maraudingmischief.blogspot.com you should go check it out! Well once again, we all miss you alot and please let us know if your going to come to visit!

❤ Shannon



RaeLynn T. says:

hey Mrs. Griffin!
We miss you so much! The new teacher is nothing like you..
but as alec said..shes learning.
she just needs to not be so shy 😛
can’t wait till you come visit!
I love you! :]



sammygirl608 says:

Hey Mrs. Griffin!! Waterloo sounds amazing!! I’m so glad that you’re having fun, i hope you can come back and see some of the performances at Red mountain they should be great this year! I’m doing lighting with peter and phillip this year but i’m definately gonna get on that stage and perform, thanks to you i’ll never be able to out grow the urge to be on stage :)!! I’m sure your students this year will be struck with that same urge when your teaching them. Well I miss you and hope that everything will be else goes well this year for you! I love you Mrs. Griffin, keep in touch!!

Samantha Durfee



Leave a Reply

et cetera
