Adventures of a Drama Teacher











{June 8, 2007}   A quick finish to the sojourn

I met some of my IB (International Baccalaureate) students the next day, and chatted more about the IB curriculum with the former drama teacher (as well as meeting after meeting) before Ms. Hoskins (aka my former English teacher) took Mo and me to the train station to sojourn back to the UK. I read the curriculum for IB theatre (sounds fascinating to an academic like me) on the train and ate myself two more gofers. I managed to coordinate our trains all the way out to Diss where G2 picked us up and we visited with his mum, her S.O.-Clive and little sister Lucy (whom by the way is an all grown up flight attendant now for Monarch Airlines). Remember we haven’t seen them in 7 years! We don’t see G2 (Mo’s bio-dad) all that often either as he lives in my home state of Oregon. Finally, we traversed to Granddad Harry Peacock’s for the rest of the stay. Fortunately, and unfortunately, Harry and his long-time significant other Pauline are totally into spoiling their grandchildren, and it wasn’t long until Mo was acting like a little LORD! They have a magnificent house and a farm. Mo really loved the dogs.

We went mountain bike riding through the Thetford forest with G2’s mum and family, and had so much fun! I kept imagining all the history that took place on those very forest grounds, like Robin Hood, and King Arthur! That was really the most fun day. The other days were filled with visiting, walking though town, showing Mo English life, shopping, visiting old churches and grave yards (I know it’s morbid, but these tombs date back to Renaisaance and medieval times!) and on the last day a visit to an actual medieval castle with a moat! This kind of stuff just fascinates me!

That pretty much covers the 10 day adventure. Mo really wanted to stay as he gets all kinds of attention from the grandparents and again he loved the dogs. But we’re now home prepping for grad. school and the move to Waterloo. Wish us luck.

Sarah M says:

Dang! Mrs Griffin you look good! Not that you don’t always. I am very glad you had fun. Enjoy the rest of your summer.
Sarah M



Chelsea C says:

Wow, Mrs. Griffin! Sounds like so much fun! You’re so lucky! Good luck next year and make sure Mo doesn’t become a TOTAL little lord. Castles sound interesting and I can’t wait for my trip in…uh…seven years (hopefully).



boxx9000 says:

It looks like it was a wonderful trip. What will Mo’s curriculum be like for next year? Is he excited about the move? Such a wonderful experience for him. How many kids get to go to school abroad? It’s something he will remember forever and even MORE special since you attended the same school, too, and NOW you are part of the staff?! just WOW! good on you.



Sam D says:

Hey Mrs.Griffin i’m glad you had fun!! I’m sure the students will be terriffic but don’t forget to remember us along the way!! We’ll always berooting you on!! Good luck!!



quagga47 says:

Hey Mrs. griffin! This is Porter. Looks like you had an awesome trip. Too bad you had to miss Othello, though. Your theater looks amazing. I think I’ll get some people together, fly over, take apart the whole thing and ship it to Red Mountain.
Good luck with grad school!



Elphie4evr says:

Hey Mrs. Griffin! Amber here. It looks like your having loads of fun! It really looks beautiful there. But don’t forgot your fans in AZ! I was wondering if you’ve ever heard of Ryanair. It’s an airline in Europe that has really low fares. Some days it’s only .01 euro! We(Porter, my mom, and I) are coming up to see you for sure! Just tell us when your ready and be warned, we’re not joking.



you rock!
and always will
i hope 2 see you lots more.

YOUR AWSOME!!!!!!!!!!



wiliam says:

hey you have like my dream dream job, i would love to teach drama in international schools around the world…can i ask where did u train and how did u go about doing it….email me please
thanks 😀



Leave a Reply

et cetera
